About Us > Governing Board

Ajay Piramal

Mr.Ajay G. Piramal , Chairman – HMRI, also serves as Chairman of Piramal Healthcare Ltd. In the area of custom manufacturing, Piramal Healthcare is the largest company in India, and is ranked among the top ten companies in the world. also leads the Piramal Group of Companies, and is very active in the field of Corporate Social Responsibility, serving as Chairman of the Piramal Foundation, the Kaivalya Education Foundation, and Pratham. has been the recipient of numerous awards for his innovative brand of leadership, such as ‘India Innovator of the Year 2008’ awarded by CNBC TV 18, Entrepreneur of the Year from the UK Trade & Investment Council (2006); Ernst & Young's Entrepreneur of the Year (2004) in the Healthcare & Life Sciences category; ‘Business Leader Award’ in Pharma Sector at the Chemtech Pharmabio Award 2004; ‘Life Time Achievement Award’ by The Rotary Club of Mumbai Mid-Town (2004); and ‘CEO of the Year’ from the World Strategy Forum in 1999. has previously been a member of the Prime Minister’s Task Force on Pharmaceuticals and Knowledge Based Industries (2002), the Prime Minister’s Council for Trade & Industry (2003); and the Board of Trade Constituted by the Ministry of Commerce (2002).

Adil Zainulbhai

is currently the leader of the India Practice of McKinsey & Company, Inc. He has advised various Government agencies on achieving GDP growth targets and improving rural GDP growth. He is a Board member of the American India Foundation; Saifee Hospital; and the Advisory Board of I.I.T., Bombay.

Balaji Ulta

Dr.Balaji Utla, President – Corporate Sustainability, Piramal Healthcare Limited and CEO of HMRI, is a doctorate in Management. His 26 years of experience spans in areas of learning, organization development & strategy and CSR. He is on the Board of EPTRI and Drivers’ Guild Foundation and is on the advisory board of several organisations. He is also the chairperson of the CII Healthcare Panel in Andhra Pradesh and a member of FICCI Healthcare Panel.

He was leading the Satyam Foundation, a not for profit foundation, initiated by Satyam Computer Services Limited (now Mahindra Satyam). Under ’s leadership, Satyam received the Corporate Citizen Award from FICCI in 2006 and the TERI award in 2007.

Raj Reddy

is the Mozah Bint Nasser University Professor of Computer Science and Robotics in the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University. 's research interests include the study of human-computer interaction and artificial intelligence His current research interests include Million Book Digital Library Project; Fiber to the Village Project; and Learning by Doing.

Srinath Reddy

is a cardiologist and a world leader in preventive cardiology and public health. He has previously been awarded the Padma Bhushan (2005), Queen Elizabeth medal (2005), WHO Director General's Award for outstanding Global Leadership in Tobacco Control (2003) and was the first Indian to be selected as a Foreign Associate Member of the Institute of Medicine of the US National Academies (2004).

from India has been honored with two major awards in the field of Public Health. who is the President of the Public Health Foundation of India and Professor of Cardiology at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) has been chosen as a winner of the Luther L Terry Award and the Honorary Fellowship of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.


Dr. Swati A. Piramal Piramal is Vice Chairperson of Piramal Life Sciences Limited. She is currently the President of ASSOCHAM, as its first lady President. She has completed her MBBS Medical Degree from University of Bombay, Industrial Medicine from DIM College of Physicians & Surgeons, Bombay and Master of Public Health from Harvard, USA.

was a Member of the Committee set up by Shri Yashwant Sinha to transform India into a Knowledge Power. She founded the Gopikrishna Piramal Memorial Hospital in 1983, a Charitable Hospital with services for the under-privileged, which helps treatment of Physically Handicapped children. Prime Minister had nominated Dr. Swati Piramal Member on the Board of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR). Dr. Swati Piramal hasbeen conferred many awards including the award Chevalier de l' Ordre National du Merite (Knight of the Order of Merit) in 2006, from the French President Mr. Jacques Chirac, Lakshmipat Singhania-IIM, Lucknow National Leadership Award, in the category of Young Leader in the field of Science and Technology for the year 2006 from the Prime Minister of India, the Rajiv Gandhi Award for Outstanding Woman Achiever by Rajiv Gandhi Foundation in 2007 and recently, the Asian Women of Achievement Awards in the UK in 2010.